Za tekst na hrvatskom klikni ovdje.

Review: Adidas Response Boost 2 Techfit

Matt Marenic
4 min readSep 14, 2016

My last Adidas Energy Boost sneakers only passed about 300 kilometers before left shoe rip apart and I had to complain. The complaint was successfully resolved and as the store didn’t have new snickers I get myself some new winter equipment that will soon get handy.

Of course, I immediately went to search for new sneakers. This time in consideration came again Adidas Akumi Sen 3, but as they are still expensive and I can’t try them I didn’t buy them. Accidentally, while I was in local Sport Vision store looking from shoes for my daughter, my eyes caught one interesting Adidas sneakers — model Resposne Boost 2 Techfit.

I never consider a cheaper version of Boost sneakers before but as this was the last pair in my size and was on big discount, I decided to take them. Sneakers are in size 45.5, but mold is half size smaller so keep this in mind when purchasing them. Good thing is that mold stretch and adapts to foot after two runs.

What surprised me about these sneakers are design and used Techfit material. Techfit material is identical to one used in the more expensive Energy Boost model. The upper part of the shoes is made of mesh through which is sewn plastic cage, which ensures that the foot does not move while running. Cage is made from harder plastic plastics so don’t overtighten laces or you will feel discomfort.

The tongue is also made from mesh and is connected with upper. It isn’t very padded so it will not move while we run. The laces are a little thicker and you need to double tie them before run. Someone can also find this laces short so best it to immediately invest in a new longer pair. While I was running it didn’t occur that the laces had untied, as it was known to happen with Ultra Boost laces.

What is certainly a nice addition to design are reflective parts located on each side of the Adidas stripes. So you can be sure that you will be visible at night. But still, when you are running at night always wear a reflective vest!

Part of me is definitely the most interested in the quality of soles and how it compares with the Energy Boost soles. Response soles can’t be compared with Ultra Boost soles because they use second-generation Boost foam while Energy Boost model uses the first generation.

Unlike these models soles of Response Boost 2 Techfit sneakers are not entirely made of Boost foam. Foam is located on the front and the heel area. Between foam is Torsion system which cares for the stability of the entire soles. The rest of the sole is made from soft rubber.

What surprised me the most is the rubber that ensures there are no slips during the run.It’s also very durable and even after covering more than 30 kilometers and still looks new. I can’t predict how will they look after 300 or 600 kilometers, but I believe there will be a minimum tear. Although the Response 2 Techfit sole isn’t entirely made from Boost foam, feeling of running in them is almost identical to running in the Energy Boost. The soles are a little stiffer, but still, you can feel soft Boost foam.

My final words would be that I am more than pleasantly surprised how good are these running sneakers. If we consider price/quality and how closely Response 2 resemble much expensive Energy Boost model, I think you do not need to think twice about their purchase. At least I know now that I’m dropping Energy Boost out of the competition and for less money getting almost identical shoes. If someone is looking for a new pair of running shoes that will faithfully serve you, get them.

The shoes were purchased in Sport Vision Sisak store at a cost of 551,40 kn.

--

--

Matt Marenic

Passion for 🥊 & 🏃‍♂️. Posts in 🇭🇷 & 🇺🇸.